[Corpora-List] Extended deadline APCLC 2018

Michael Barlow mi.barlow at auckland.ac.nz
Tue May 8 11:32:15 CEST 2018

Fourth Asia Pacific Corpus Linguistics Conference (APCLC 2018)

Final Call for Papers: APCLC 2018

*** Extended deadline: 31 May, 2018 ***

Conference website (new): https://www.apclc2018.org<https://www.apclc2018.org/>

The Asia Pacific Corpus Linguistics Association invites you to submit your papers to APCLC 2018 (17-19, September, 2018) in Takamatsu City, Japan.

Following on from the success of previous conferences (Auckland 2012; Hong Kong 2014; Beijing 2016), we hope to again bring together academics from around the world, and from the Asia Pacific area in particular, in order to report on the developments in the use of corpora in linguistics, language learning, and translation studies. With this conference, we aim to provide a forum for the exchange of ideas and expertise and to lay the foundations for future developments in the application of corpus resources in Asia and the Pacific.


Corpus Linguistics in Interdisciplinary & Asia Pacific Perspectives


The conference invites the submission of papers reporting on research on topics, including, but not limited to:

corpora and discourse analysis corpora and language acquisition & learning corpora and lexical & grammatical studies corpora and lexicography corpora and pragmatics & sociolinguistics corpora and translation studies corpora and the web corpora and natural language processing corpora and machine translation new technologies and methods in corpus analysis theoretical issues in corpus analysis


Laurence ANTHONY (Waseda University, Japan) Michael BARLOW (University of Auckland, New Zealand) Stefan EVERT (Friedrich-Alexander-Universitšt, Germany) Michaela MAHLBERG (University of Birmingham, UK) Naoaki OKAZAKI (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)


Takamatsu city is in Kagawa Prefecture, located in the Shikoku Island, Japan. Takamatsu City is accessible via an 80-minute flight from Tokyo or a 105-minute train ride from Osaka.

The conference will be held in the conference centre, Sunport Takamatsu, which is conveniently located next to JR Takamatsu station (a 3 minute walk) and the JR Hotel Clement Takamatsu is a one-minute walk from the station.


APCLC 2018 invites submissions in the form of a 300-word abstract (excluding references). Submissions can be for:

- a 20-minute paper (plus 10-minute discussion) - a poster - a one-day or half-day workshop (on September 16th)

The accepted authors should submit full or short papers for the online proceedings:

- a 20-minute paper (max. 8 pages, including references) - a poster (max. 4 pages, including references)

Submission site: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=apclc2018

To do this, you have to first create an Easy Chair account as an author. Click on the following link and follow the instructions: https://www.easychair.org/account/signup.cgi?conf=apclc2018


Early-bird registration open: 31 May, 2018 Deadline for abstracts: 31 May, 2018 Notification of acceptance: 20 June, 2018 Early-bird registration close: 10 August, 2018 Submission of camera-ready copies of papers (4-8 pages): 20 August, 2018 Pre-conference workshops: 16 September, 2018 Main conference: 17-19 September, 2018 Excursion: 20 September, 2018


APCLC 2018 Co-chairs: Yukio Tono, Tokyo University of Foreign Studies Hitoshi Isahara, Toyohashi University of Technology

Local organizers: Mariko Abe, Chuo University Kiyomi Chujo, Nihon University Toru Ishida, Kyoto University Yasutake Ishii, Seijo University Shin Ishikawa, Kobe University Yuka Ishikawa, Nagoya Institute of Technology Emi Izumi, Kyoto University of Foreign Studies Kyoko Kanzaki, Toyohashi University of Technology Yuichiro Kobayashi, Nihon University Yoshiyuki Notohara, Doshisha University Naoki Sugimori, Ritsumeikan University Satoru Uchida, Kyushu University Eiko Yamamoto, Gifu Shotoku Gakuen University Seok-Chae Rhee, Yonsei University Hong Won Suh, Yonsei University CK Jung, Yonsei University Jae-ho Lee, Waseda University Young Bin Song, Ewha Womans University

APCLA Committee:

Michael Barlow, University of Auckland Monika Bednarek, University of Sydney Winnie Cheng, Hong Kong Polytechnic University Hitoshi Isahara, Toyohashi University of Technology CK Jung, Yonsei University Deny Kwary, Universitas Airlangga Yukio Tono, Tokyo University of Foreign Studies Naixing Wei, Beihang University

APCLA website: http://apcla.net/

CONTACT: enquiry at apclc2018.org<mailto:enquiry at apclc2018.org>?


Michael Barlow

Assoc. Prof. Applied Language Studies, University of Auckland

Adjunct Assoc. Prof. Linguistics, CU Boulder


-------------- next part -------------- A non-text attachment was scrubbed... Name: not available Type: text/html Size: 37873 bytes Desc: not available URL: <https://mailman.uib.no/public/corpora/attachments/20180508/8a8de76d/attachment.txt>

More information about the Corpora mailing list