[Corpora-List] Deadline Extended: Fourth Workshop on NLP for Similar Languages, Varieties and Dialects (VarDial) at EACL 2017

Marcos Zampieri marcos.zampieri at uni-saarland.de
Mon Jan 16 20:31:32 CET 2017

Deadline Extended: January 23, 2017

VarDial - Fourth Workshop on NLP for Similar Languages, Varieties and Dialects

VarDial 2017: http://ttg.uni-saarland.de/vardial2017/ Shared Tasks: http://ttg.uni-saarland.de/vardial2017/sharedtask2017.html

Co-located with EACL 2017, in VarDial we anticipate discussion on computational methods and on language resources for closely related languages and language varieties. Corpus-driven studies on different degrees of linguistic variation such as lexicon and grammar is another topic of interest.

Within the scope of the workshop, we are organising an evaluation campaign with four shared tasks on similar languages, varieties and dialects. Check the website for more information.


We welcome papers dealing with one or more of the following topics:

- Language resources and tools for similar languages, varieties and dialects; - Adaptation of tools (taggers, parsers) for similar languages, varieties and dialects; - Evaluation of language resources and tools when applied to language varieties; - Reusability of language resources in NLP applications (e.g., for machine translation, POS tagging, syntactic parsing, etc.); - Corpus-driven studies in dialectology and language variation; - Automatic identification of lexical variation; - Automatic classification of language varieties; - Text similarity and adaptation between language varieties; - Linguistic issues in the adaptation of language resources and tools (e.g., semantic discrepancies, lexical gaps, false friends); - Machine translation between closely related languages, language varieties and dialects.

Instruction for Authors

Submissions should be formatted according to the EACL template and submitted in PDF format. Papers should contain maximum 10 pages (8 pages of content + 2 pages for references). The review process will be double-blind.

Important Dates

Submission Deadline: January 23, 2017 (extended) Acceptance Notification: February 11, 2017 Camera-ready versions: February 21, 2017 Workshop: April 3, 2017

Program Committee

Željko Agić (IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark) Cesar Aguilar (Pontifical Catholic University of Chile, Chile) Laura Alonso y Alemany (University of Cordoba, Argentina) Tim Baldwin (University of Melbourne, Australia) Jorge Baptista (University of Algarve and INESC-ID, Portugal) Eckhard Bick (University of Southern Denmark, Denmark) Francis Bond (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore) Aoife Cahill (Educational Testing Service, United States) David Chiang (University of Notre Dame, United States) Paul Cook (University of New Brunswick, Canada) Marta Costa-Jussà (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain) Jon Dehdari (Saarland University and DFKI, Germany) Liviu Dinu (University of Bucharest, Romania) Stefanie Dipper (Ruhr University Bochum, Germany) Sascha Diwersy (University of Montpellier, France) Mark Dras (Macquire University, Australia) Tomaž Erjavec (Jožef Stefan Institute, Slovenia) Mikel L. Forcada (Universitat d'Alacant, Spain) Binyam Gebrekidan Gebre (Phillips Research, Netherlands) Cyril Goutte (National Research Council, Canada) Nizar Habash (New York University Abu Dhabi, UAE) Chu-Ren Huang (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong) Jeremy Jancsary (Nuance Communications, Austria) Lung-Hao Lee (National Taiwan Normal University, Taiwan) Marco Lui (Rome2Rio Ltd., Australia) Teresa Lynn (Dublin City University, Ireland) John Nerbonne (University of Groningen, Netherlands and University of Freiburg, Germany) Graham Neubig (Carnegie Mellon University, United States) Kemal Oflazer (Carnegie Mellon University in Qatar, Qatar) Maciej Ogrodniczuk (IPAN, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland) Petya Osenova (Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria) Reinhard Rapp (University of Mainz, Germany and University of Aix-Marsaille, France) Paolo Rosso (Polytechnic University of Valencia, Spain) Tanja Samardžić (University of Geneva, Switzerland) Felipe Sánchez Martínez (Universitat d'Alacant, Spain) Kevin Scannell (Saint Louis University, United States) Yves Scherrer (University of Geneva, Switzerland) Serge Sharoff (University of Leeds, United Kingdom) Kiril Simov (Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria) Milena Slavcheva (Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria) Marco Tadić (University of Zagreb, Croatia) Elke Teich (Saarland University, Germany) Joel Tetreault (Grammarly, United States) Francis Tyers (UiT Norgga árktalaš universitehta, Norway) Duško Vitas (University of Belgrade, Serbia) Taro Watanabe (Google Inc., Japan) Pidong Wang (Machine Zone Inc., United States)


Preslav Nakov (Qatar Computing Research Institute, Qatar) Marcos Zampieri (University of Cologne, Germany) Nikola Ljubešic (Jožef Stefan Institute, Slovenia and University of Zagreb, Croatia) Jörg Tiedemann (University of Helsinki, Finland) Shervin Malmasi (Harvard Medical School, United States) Ahmed Ali (Qatar Computing Research Institute, Qatar)

Contact: vardialworkshop at gmail.com -- Marcos Zampieri Saarland University http://www.marcoszampieri.com

More information about the Corpora mailing list