[Corpora-List] Call for Papers - Third Workshop on NLP for Similar Languages, Varieties and Dialects (VarDial) at COLING 2016

Marcos Zampieri marcos.zampieri at uni-saarland.de
Tue Jul 19 00:35:27 CEST 2016

Call for Papers

VarDial - Third Workshop on NLP for Similar Languages, Varieties and Dialects

VarDial 2016: http://ttg.uni-saarland.de/vardial2016/ DSL Shared Task 2016: http://ttg.uni-saarland.de/vardial2016/dsl2016.html

Co-located with COLING 2016, in VarDial we anticipate discussion on computational methods and on language resources for closely related languages and language varieties. Corpus-driven exploitation of different degrees of linguistic variation such as lexicon and grammar is another topic of interest.

Within the scope of the workshop, we will be organizing the third edition of the Discriminating between Similar Languages (DSL) shared task including a sub-task on Arabic dialect identification.


We welcome papers dealing with one or more of the following topics:

- Language resources and tools for similar languages, varieties and dialects; - Adaptation of tools (taggers, parsers) for similar languages, varieties and dialects; - Evaluation of language resources and tools when applied to language varieties; - Reusability of language resources in NLP applications (e.g., for machine translation, POS tagging, syntactic parsing, etc.); - Corpus-driven studies in dialectology and language variation; - Automatic identification of lexical variation; - Automatic classification of language varieties; - Text similarity and adaptation between language varieties; - Linguistic issues in the adaptation of language resources and tools (e.g., semantic discrepancies, lexical gaps, false friends); - Machine translation between closely related languages, language varieties and dialects.

Instruction for Authors

Submissions should be formatted according to the COLING template and submitted in PDF format. Papers should contain maximum 10 pages (8 pages of content + 2 pages for references).

Important Dates

Submission deadline: September 20th, 2016 Acceptance notification: October 14th, 2016 Camera-ready deadline: October 30th, 2016 Workshop: December 12th, 2016

Program Committee

Željko Agic (University of Copenhagen, Denmark) Cesar Aguilar (Pontifical Catholic University of Chile, Chile) Laura Alonso y Alemany (University of Cordoba, Argentina) Tim Baldwin (University of Melbourne, Australia) Jorge Baptista (University of Algarve and INESC-ID, Portugal) Eckhard Bick (University of Southern Denmark, Denmark) Francis Bond (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore) Aoife Cahill (Educational Testing Service, United States) David Chiang (University of Notre Dame, United States) Paul Cook (University of New Brunswick, Canada) Marta Costa-Jussŕ (Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore) Jon Dehdari (Saarland University and DFKI, Germany) Liviu Dinu (University of Bucharest, Romania) Stefanie Dipper (Ruhr University Bochum, Germany) Sascha Diwersy (University of Montpelier, France) Mark Dras (Macquire University, Australia) Tomaž Erjavec (Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia) Mikel L. Forcada (Universitat d'Alacant, Spain) Binyam Gebrekidan Gebre (Phillips Research, Holland) Cyril Goutte (National Research Council, Canada) Nizar Habash (New York University Abu Dhabi, UAE) Chu-Ren Huang (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong) Jeremy Jancsary (Nuance Communications, Austria) Lung-Hao Lee (National Taiwan Normal University, Taiwan) Marco Lui (Rome2Rio Ltd., Australia) John Nerbonne (University of Groningen, Netherlands) Graham Neubig (Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan) Kemal Oflazer (Carnegie-Mellon University, Qatar) Maciej Ogrodniczuk (IPAN, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland) Petya Osenova (Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria) Reinhard Rapp (University of Mainz, Germany and University of Aix-Marsaille, France) Stefan Riezler (University of Heidelberg, Germany) Paolo Rosso (Polytechnic University of Valencia, Spain) Tanja Samardžic (University of Geneva, Switzerland) Felipe Sánchez Martínez (Universitat d'Alacant, Spain) Kevin Scanell (Saint Louis University, United States) Yves Scherrer (University of Geneva, Switzerland) Serge Sharoff (University of Leeds, United Kingdom) Kiril Simov (Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria) Milena Slavcheva (Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria) Marco Tadic (University of Zagreb, Croatia) Elke Teich (Saarland University, Germany) Joel Tetreault (Yahoo! Labs, United States) Francis Tyers (UiT Norgga árktalaš universitehta, Norway) Duško Vitas (University of Belgrade, Serbia) Taro Watanabe (Google Inc., Japan)


Preslav Nakov (Qatar Computing Research Institute, Qatar) Marcos Zampieri (Saarland University and DFKI, Germany) Liling Tan (Singapore University of Design and Technology and Saarland University, Germany) Nikola Ljubešic (Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia and University of Zagreb, Croatia) Jörg Tiedemann (University of Helsinki, Finland) Shervin Malmasi (Harvard Medical School, United States)


Workshop: vardialworkshop at gmail.com Shared Task: dsl.sharedtask at gmail.com -- Marcos Zampieri Applied Linguistics, Translation and Interpreting Saarland University http://www.marcoszampieri.com

More information about the Corpora mailing list