[Corpora-List] Deadline extension: Treebanks and Linguistic Theories

Dickinson, Markus md7 at indiana.edu
Tue Sep 15 22:02:40 CEST 2015

DEADLINE EXTENSION: 27th September 2015. See the original final CFP below.


TLT14: Final Call for Papers

(registration and submission open)

14th International Workshop on Treebanks and Linguistic Theories

Warsaw, Poland

11–12 December 2015


TLT serves as a venue for new and ongoing research on the topic of linguistics and treebanks. The 14th edition of TLT will take place at the Institute of Computer Science, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, on 11–12 December 2015. This is the final reminder about the upcoming deadline for submissions: 27 September 2015 (was: 20 September 2015).

For almost 15 years now, TLT has served as a venue for new and ongoing high-quality work related to syntactically-annotated corpora, i.e., treebanks; with a focus on all the aspects of treebanking – descriptive, theoretical, formal and computational – but also going beyond treebanks, including other levels of annotation such as frame semantics, coreference or events, to name only a few.

Submissions are invited for papers, posters and demonstrations which present research on treebanks and their intersection with linguistics, natural language processing and other related fields.

TLT14 website: http://tlt14.ipipan.waw.pl/


• Dag Haug (University of Oslo, Norway) • Bonnie Webber (University of Edinburgh, Scotland)


Treebanks have proved to be crucial resources for very important NLP applications, such as machine translation and information extraction, as well as supporting resources for various NLP tasks, such as high-quality parsing and POS tagging.

More recent trends in treebank related research have focused on a variety of initiatives, such as annotating deep syntactic and syntactic-semantic interface information; (semi)-automatic conversion of existing treebanks into deeper linguistic formats; multilingual and crosslingual treebanking, including attempts for 'language universal' treebanking; enriching treebanks with additional layers of linguistic annotation as well as world knowledge layer; dynamic treebanking involving a close connection between grammar-based parsing and manual annotation; designing web services for observing and exploiting theoretically diverse treebanks; mapping syntactic and semantic knowledge to Linked Open Data information (LOD).


The workshop invites the submission of papers, posters and software demonstrations on original and unpublished research on the following topics, including, but not limited to:

• Design principles and annotation schemes for treebanks • The use of treebanks in acquiring linguistic knowledge • The use of treebanks for NLP applications • The role of linguistic theories in treebank development • Treebanks as a knowledge source for linguistic research • Treebank annotation beyond syntax: semantics, pragmatics and discourse • Evaluation and quality control of treebanks • Tools for creation and management of treebanks • Treebanks for lesser-resourced languages • Theories, schemas and applications for parallel treebanks • Standards for treebanks • (Semi-)automatic methods for creating large treebanks • Mapping of treebanks to Linked Open Data resources • Domain-specific treebanks • The future of treebanks and treebanking • Multi-word expressions in treebanks


The programme for TLT14 will consist of full papers, posters and software demonstrations. Submissions must be anonymized, written in English, and conform to the TLT14 style files available at http://tlt14.ipipan.waw.pl/submissions/.

Abstracts for full papers should not exceed 5 pages in length, excluding references. Abstracts for posters and software demonstrations should not exceed 3 pages in length, excluding references.

Please upload your submissions via EasyChair: https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=tlt14.


Registration is now open. The deadline for early registration is 15 November 2015. See http://tlt14.ipipan.waw.pl/registration/ for fees and for a link to the registration page (or go directly to http://tlt2015conf.ipipan.waw.pl/).


• 15 July 2015: Submissions and registration open • 27 September 2015: Deadline for submissions (was: 20 September 2015) • 1 November 2015: Notification of acceptance • 15 November 2015: Deadline for early registration • 22 November 2015: Final papers due • 11–12 December 2015: Workshop


• Markus Dickinson (Indiana University, USA; co-chair) • Erhard Hinrichs (University of Tübingen, Germany; co-chair) • Agnieszka Patejuk (Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland; co-chair) • Adam Przepiórkowski (Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland; co-chair)

• David Bamman (Carnegie Mellon University, USA) • Emily Bender (University of Washington, USA) • Eckhard Bick (University of Southern Denmark, Denmark) • Francis Bond (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore) • Claire Bonial (University of Colorado at Boulder, USA) • Johan Bos (University of Groningen, The Netherlands) • Gosse Bouma (University of Groningen, The Netherlands) • António Branco (University of Lisbon, Portugal) • Miriam Butt (University of Konstanz, Germany) • Stefanie Dipper (Ruhr University Bochum, Germany) • Tomaž Erjavec (Jožef Stefan Institute, Slovenia) • Eva Hajicová (Charles University in Prague, Czech Republic) • Julia Hockenmaier (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) • Daniël de Kok (University of Tübingen, Germany) • Seth Kulick (Linguistic Data Consortium, USA) • Sandra Kübler (Indiana University, USA) • Marie-Catherine de Marneffe (Ohio State University, USA) • Detmar Meurers (University of Tübingen, Germany) • Jirí Mírovský (Charles University in Prague, Czech Republic) • Kaili Müürisep (University of Tartu, Estonia) • Joakim Nivre (Uppsala University, Sweden) • Stefan Oepen (University of Oslo, Norway) • Petya Osenova (Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria) • Marco Passarotti (Catholic University of the Sacred Heart, Italy) • Marwa Ragheb (Suez Canal University, Egypt) • Ines Rehbein (University of Potsdam, Germany) • Alexandr Rosen (Charles University in Prague, Czech Republic) • Victoria Rosén (University of Bergen, Norway) • Djamé Seddah (Paris-Sorbonne University, France) • Martin Volk (University of Zurich, Switzerland) • Heike Zinsmeister (University of Hamburg, Germany)


• Adam Przepiórkowski (chair) • Michal Ciesiolka • Konrad Goluchowski • Mateusz Kopec • Katarzyna Krasnowska • Agnieszka Patejuk • Marcin Wolinski • Alina Wróblewska

For more information or questions, please contact: tlt14-local at chopin.ipipan.waw.pl.

-------------- next part -------------- A non-text attachment was scrubbed... Name: not available Type: text/html Size: 9372 bytes Desc: not available URL: <https://mailman.uib.no/public/corpora/attachments/20150915/02d014e5/attachment.txt>

More information about the Corpora mailing list