[Corpora-List] Deadline Extended - LT4VarDial Workshop at RANLP 2015

Marcos Zampieri marcos.zampieri at uni-koeln.de
Mon Jun 29 00:47:15 CEST 2015

LT4VarDial - Joint Workshop on Language Technology for Closely Related Languages, Varieties and Dialects (LT4CloseLang 2 - VarDial 2)

LT4VarDial 2015: http://ttg.uni-saarland.de/lt4vardial2015/

Co-located with RANLP 2015, LT4VarDial follows two recent workshops on the topic: LT4CloseLang held at EMNLP 2014 and VarDial held at COLING 2014. We anticipate discussion on computational methods and on language resources for closely related languages and language varieties. Corpus-driven exploitation of different degrees of linguistic variation such as lexicon and grammar is another topic of interest.


We welcome papers dealing with one or more of the following topics:

- Language resources and tools for similar languages, varieties and dialects; - Adaptation of tools (taggers, parsers) for similar languages, varieties and dialects; - Evaluation of language resources and tools when applied to language varieties; - Reusability of language resources in NLP applications (e.g., for machine translation, POS tagging, syntactic parsing, etc.); - Corpus-driven studies in dialectology and language variation; - Automatic identification of lexical variation; - Automatic classification of language varieties; - Text similarity and adaptation between language varieties; - Linguistic issues in the adaptation of language resources and tools (e.g., semantic discrepancies, lexical gaps, false friends); - Machine translation between closely related languages, language varieties and dialects.

Instruction for Authors

Submissions should be formatted according to the RANLP template and submitted in PDF format. Papers should contain maximum 10 pages (8 pages of content + 2 pages for references). Accepted papers will be published in the LT4VarDial workshop proceedings and available through the ACL Anthology.

Important Dates

Submission deadline: July 10th, 2015 Acceptance notification: July 31st, 2015 Camera-ready versions: August 9th, 2015 Workshop: September 10th, 2015

Program Committee

Željko Agic (University of Potsdam, Germany) Laura Alonso y Alemany (Univeristy of Cordoba, Argentina) Jorge Baptista (University of Algarve and INESC-ID, Portugal) Eckhard Bick (University of Southern Denmark) Francis Bond (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore) Aoife Cahill (Educational Testing Service, United States) José Castaño (University of Buenos Aires, Argentina) Paul Cook (University of New Brunswick, Canada) Marta Costa-Jussà (Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore) Liviu Dinu (University of Bucarest, Romania) Stefanie Dipper (Ruhr University Bochum, Germany) Sascha Diwersy (University of Cologne, Germany) Tomaž Erjavec (Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia) Mikel L. Forcada (Universitat d'Alacant, Spain) Maria Gavrilidou (ILSP, Greece) Binyam Gebrekidan Gebre (Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics, Holland) Nizar Habash (Columbia University, USA) Barry Haddow (University of Edinburgh, UK) Chu-Ren Huang (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong) Nitin Indurkhya (University of New South Wales, Australia) Jeremy Jancsary (Nuance Communications, Austria) Marco Lui (University of Melbourne, Australia) Vladislav Kubon (Charles University Prague, Czech Republic) Shervin Malmasi (Macquire University, Australia) Graham Neubig (Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan) John Nerbonne (University of Groningen, Netherlands) Kemal Oflazer (Carnegie-Mellon University, Qatar) Maciej Ogrodniczuk (IPAN, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland) Santanu Pal (Saarland University, Germany) Reinhard Rapp (University of Mainz, Germany and University of Aix-Marsaille, France) Laurent Romary (INRIA, France) Kevin Scanell (Saint Louis University, USA) Yves Scherrer (University of Geneva, Switzerland) Serge Sharoff (University of Leeds, United Kingdom) Kiril Simov (Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria) Milena Slavcheva (Bulgarian Academy of Sciences) Marco Tadic (University of Zagreb, Croatia) Elke Teich (Saarland University, Germany) Joel Tetreault (Yahoo! Labs, USA) Francis Tyers (UiT Norgga árktalaš universitehta, Norway) Dusko Vitas (University of Belgrade, Serbia) Pidong Wang (National University of Singapore, Singapore) Taro Watanabe (NICT, Japan)


Preslav Nakov (Qatar Computing Research Institute, Qatar) Marcos Zampieri (Saarland University and DFKI, Germany) Petya Osenova (Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria) Liling Tan (Saarland University, Germany) Cristina Vertan (University of Hamburg, Germany) Nikola Ljubešic (University of Zagreb, Croatia) Jörg Tiedemann (University of Uppsala, Sweden)


Workshop: vardialworkshop at gmail.com Shared Task: dsl.sharedtask at gmail.com

More information about the Corpora mailing list