[Corpora-List] Final CfP Workshop on Extra-Propostional Aspects of Meaning (ExProM) at NAACL

Roser Morante r.morantevallejo at vu.nl
Fri Feb 20 22:21:50 CET 2015

****************************************************************** * Extra-Propositional Aspects of Meaning (ExProM) * * in Computational Linguistics * * * * Workshop collocated with NAACL 2015, Denver, CO, USA * * June 5, 2015 * ******************************************************************* * * * Final Call for papers * * * * More info: http://www.cse.unt.edu/exprom2015/ * * * *******************************************************************

New: Submission deadline extended to ***March 4, 2015***

Student travel grants available

************************ ** Scope and Topics ** ************************

In its 2015 edition, the Extra-Propositional Aspects of Meaning (ExProM) workshop aims at bringing together scientists working on ExProM within computational linguistics. The goal is to attract researchers interested in theoretical frameworks, annotation schemas, modeling and implementing real systems, as well as analyzing the impact of ExProM in natural language processing applications. The workshop also aims at building a bridge between theoretical and computational linguistics. In particular, it will address these topics, although it will also cover related topics:

- Knowledge transfer from linguistics to computational linguistics: defining models for ExProM

- ExProM and lexical resources

- ExProM at the sentence and discourse level: how much context is necessary?

- ExProM and subjectivity: how do linguistic resources encode subjectivity?

- ExProM across domains: news, scientific texts, legal documents, economy texts

- ExProM in user-generated content

- ExProM and implicit meaning: what do sentences really mean?

- ExProM in spoken language

- Negation: verbal/non-verbal, analytic/synthetic, clausal/subclausal and ordinary/metalinguistic; scope and focus

- Modality: defining and annotating types for computational linguistics

- Factuality: determining factuality changes within and across documents

- Veridicity and veridicality: measuring author commitment

- Attribution and perspective: determining who says what and their purpose

- Irony and sarcasm

- (Automatically) extracting ExProM: strategies, resources and difficulties

- Supervised, unsupervised and rule-based approaches to extract ExProM

- Integrating ExProM in the NLP pipeline

- ExProM for NLP applications: does it help?

********************** ** Invited speaker ** **********************

We are pleased to announce that Professor Lauri Karttunen (http://web.stanford.edu/~laurik/) from Stanford University has accepted to give a keynote.

******************* ** Submissions ** *******************

Authors are invited to submit papers describing original, unpublished work in the topic areas listed above. Full papers should not exceed eight pages.

Additionally, authors are invited to submit short papers not exceeding 4 pages. Short papers usually describe:

- a small, focused contribution;

- work in progress;

- a negative result;

- an opinion piece; or

- an interesting application nugget.

All submissions must be in PDF format and must conform to the official NAACL 2015 style guidelines (http://naacl.org/naacl-pubs/naaclhlt2015.pdf). LaTeX style files and Microsoft Word style files can be found here (http://naacl.org/naacl-pubs/).

The reviewing process will be blind and papers should not include the authors' names and affiliations. Each submission will be reviewed by at least three members of the program committee. Accepted papers will be published in the workshop proceedings and available at the ACL Anthology.

Multiple Submission Policy. Papers that have been or will be submitted to other meetings or publications are acceptable, but authors must indicate this information at submission time. If accepted, authors must notify the organizers as to whether the paper will be presented at the workshop or elsewhere.

Submission link: https://www.softconf.com/naacl2015/exprom

*************************** ** Student travel grants ** ***************************

Funding is available to assist students both with travel to Denver, CO and workshop expenses (hotel, transportation to and from the airport, registration fee, reasonable meal costs, etc.). Funding is limited, and student travel grants are intended to partially cover the expenses of student participants in the workshop. Student travel grants are generously sponsored by the National Science Foundation.


Current student from the United States or a developing country

Author or coauthor of an accepted paper in the workshop

More information can be found at http://www.cse.unt.edu/exprom2015/travel_grants.html .

*********************** ** Important Dates ** ***********************

- March 4, 2015: Submission deadline for short and full papers

- March 20, 2015: Notification of acceptance

- March 30, 2015: Camera-ready papers due

- June 5, 2015: Workshop

******************* ** Organization ** *******************

- Eduardo Blanco, University of North Texas

- Roser Morante, VU University Amsterdam

- Caroline Sporleder, Universität Trier

*************************** ** Program Committee ** ***************************

- Nicholas Asher - IRIT, Université Paul Sabatier

- Tim Baldwin - The University of Melbourne

- Emily M. Bender - University of Washington

- Cosmin Adrian Bejan - Vanderbilt University

- Pushpak Bhattacharyya - Indian Institute of Technology Bombay

- Gosse Bouma - University of Groningen

- Tomasso Caselli - VU University Amsterdam

- Mona T. Diab, George Washington University

- Jacob Eisenstein - Georgia Tech

- Edward Grefenstette - University of Oxford

- Zhou Guadong - Soochow University

- Ivan Habernal - TU Darmstadt

- Iris Hendrickx - Radboud University

- Lori Levin - Carnegie Mellon University

- Maria Liakata - University of Warwick

- Erwin Marsi - Norwegian University of Science and Technology

- Malvina Nissim - University of Bologna

- Sampo Pyysalo - University of Turku

- Christopher Potts - Stanford University

- Owen Rambow - Columbia University

- German Rigau - UPV/EHU

- Ellen Riloff - University of Utah

- Paolo Rosso - Universidad Politècnica de Valencia

- Josef Ruppenhofer - Saarland University

- Roser Saurí - Universitat Pompeu Fabra

- Erik Velldal - University of Oslo

- Bonnie Webber - University of Edinburgh

- Byron C. Wallace, UT Austin

- Michael Wiegand - Saarland University

More information about the Corpora mailing list