[Corpora-List] Second CfP: LAW IX - Linguistic Annotation Workshop at NAACL 2015

irehbein at uni-potsdam.de irehbein at uni-potsdam.de
Sun Dec 28 20:04:39 CET 2014

[with apologies for cross-posting]

************************************************************************* LAW IX - Linguistic Annotation Workshop at NAACL 2015 *************************************************************************


The 9th Linguistic Annotation Workshop will be held in conjunction with the Conference of the North American Chapter of the Association for Computational Linguistics - Human Language Technologies (NAACL HLT 2015), taking place May 31 to June 5 in Denver, Colorado, USA.

Important Dates --------------- Feb 25, 2015 Paper submission deadline Mar 20, 2015 Notification of acceptance Mar 30, 2015 Camera-ready deadline Jun 05, 2015 LAW IX at NAACL 2015

Workshop Description --------------------

Linguistic annotation of natural language corpora is the backbone of supervised methods for statistical natural language processing. It also provides valuable data for evaluation of both rule-based and supervised systems and can help formalize and study linguistic phenomena.

The LAW provides a forum for presentation and discussion of innovative research on all aspects of linguistic annotation, including creation/evaluation of annotation schemes, methods for automatic and manual annotation, use and evaluation of annotation software and frameworks, representation of linguistic data and annotations, etc.

Special Theme -------------

This year, we in particular welcome contributions that address the workshop theme:

*Syntactic Annotation of Non-canonical Language*

Papers will be solicited that address questions such as, what is the best unit of analysis for data where we don't have sentence boundaries, or even systematic word boundaries? How do we best deal with elliptical structures, missing elements, code switching, and phenomena such as hashtags in computer-mediated language (CMC)? What is the best way of representing disfluencies in the syntax tree?

More information on this years' special theme can be found here: http://www.sfb632.uni-potsdam.de/law2015/theme.html

Submission Topics -----------------

We welcome submissions of long and short papers, posters, and demonstrations, relating to the topics of the special theme and to any aspect of linguistic annotation, including: Annotation procedures

* Innovative automated and manual strategies for annotation

* Machine learning and knowledge-based methods for automation

of corpus annotation

* Creation, maintenance, and interactive exploration of annotation

structures and annotated data

Annotation evaluation:

* Inter-annotator agreement and other evaluation metrics and


* Qualitative evaluation of linguistic representation

Annotation access and use

* Representation formats/structures for merged annotations of

different phenomena, and means to explore/manipulate them

* Linguistic considerations for merging annotations of distinct


Annotation guidelines and standards

* Best practices for annotation procedures and/or development and

documentation of annotation schemes

* Interoperability of annotation formats and/or frameworks among

different systems as well as different tasks, frameworks,

modalities, and languages

Annotation software and frameworks

* Development, evaluation and/or innovative use of annotation

software frameworks

Annotation schemes

* New and innovative annotation schemes

* Comparison of annotation schemes

Submission Details ------------------

The papers should report original and unpublished research on topics of interest for the workshop. The maximum length is eight (8) pages of content for long papers or four (4) pages of content for short papers, posters, and demonstrations, plus up to two (2) pages of references.

For more information on the submission details please visit http://www.sfb632.uni-potsdam.de/law2015/cfp.html

Submission deadline: February 25th, 2015, 23:59 GMT.

Submission site: please submit your paper in PDF format via START: https://www.softconf.com/naacl2015/law/

Workshop Chairs ---------------

Adam Meyers (New York University) Ines Rehbein (Potsdam University) Heike Zinsmeister (University of Hamburg)

Organising Committee --------------------

Stefanie Dipper (Ruhr University Bochum) Chu-Ren Huang (The Hong Kong Polytechnic University) Nancy Ide (Vassar College) Lori Levin (Carnegie-Mellon University) Antonio Pareja-Lora (SIC & ILSA, UCM / ATLAS, UNED) Massimo Poesio (University of Trento) Sameer Pradhan (Harvard University) Manfred Stede (University of Potsdam) Katrin Tomanek (VigLink Inc.) Fei Xia (University of Washington) Nianwen Xue (Brandeis University)

Programme Committee -------------------

Colin Baker (UC Berkeley) Archna Bhatia (Carnegie Mellon University) Ann Bies (LDC) Marie Candito (Université Paris Diderot - INRIA) Özlem Çetinoğlu (University of Stuttgart) Christian Chiarcos (University of Frankfurt) Markus Dickinson (Indiana University) Stefanie Dipper (Ruhr University Bochum) Tomaž Erjavec (Josef Stefan Institute) Kilian Evang (University of Groningen) Pablo Faria (Universidade Estadual de Campinas) Jennifer Foster (Dublin City University) Andrew Gargett (University of Birmingham) Kim Gerdes (Sorbonne Nouvelle, Paris 3) Nizar Habash (New York University Abu Dhabi) Udo Hahn (Univ Jena) Chu-Ren Huang (The Hong Kong Polytechnic University) Nancy Ide (Vassar College) Aravind Joshi (University of Pennsylvania) Varada Kolhatkar (University of Toronto) Valia Kordoni (Humboldt University Berlin) Sandra Kübler (Indiana University) John S. Y. Lee (City University of Hong Kong) Els Lefever (University College Ghent) Lori Levin (Carnegie-Mellon University) Marie-Catherine de Marneffe (Ohio State University) Amália Mendes (Universidade di Lisboa) Anna Nedoluzhko (Chareles University Prague) Kemal Oflazer (Carnegie-Mellon University, Qatar) Lilja Řvrelid (University of Oslo) Alexis Palmer (University of Stuttgart) Antonio Pareja-Lora (SIC & ILSA, UCM / ATLAS, UNED) Massimo Poesio (University of Trento) Sameer Pradhan (Harvard University) James Pustejovsky (Brandeis University) Arndt Riester (University of Stuttgart) Benoît Sagot (Inria, Université Paris 7) Nathan Schneider (Carnegie-Mellon University) Djamé Seddah (Université Paris Sorbonne &

INRIA's Alpage Project) Kiril Simov (Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Sofia) Anders Sřgaard (University of Copenhagen) Caroline Sporleder (University of Trier) Manfred Stede (University of Potsdam) Joel Tetrault (Yahoo! Labs) Katrin Tomanek (VigLink Inc.) Reut Tsarfaty (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel) Yulia Tsvetkov (Carnegie-Mellon University) Andreas Witt (IDS Mannheim) Fei Xia (University of Washington) Nianwen Xue (Brandeis University)

More information about the Corpora mailing list