[Corpora-List] Final Call: Karen Spärck Jones Award - Call for Nominations

Kruschwitz U udo at essex.ac.uk
Thu Jan 12 14:01:48 CET 2012

The Award is open to all nationalities for those with up to and including 10 years' experience.

Deadline: 20 January, 2012

Details also available on: http://irsg.bcs.org/ksjaward/KSJ%20Award%20Flyer_Nov2011upd.pdf http://irsg.bcs.org/ksjaward.php

-------- Call for Nominations ---------------

BCS / BCS IRSG Karen Spärck Jones Award An Award to Commemorate Karen Spärck Jones

The British Computer Society Information Retrieval Specialist Group (BCS IRSG) in conjunction with the BCS has created an award to commemorate the achievements of Karen Spärck Jones.

Karen was a Professor Emeritus of Computers and Information at the University of Cambridge and one of the most remarkable women in computer science. Her contributions to the fields of Information Retrieval (IR) and Natural Language Processing (NLP), especially with regard to experimentation, have been outstanding and highly influential. Karen’s achievements resulted in her receiving a number of prestigious accolades such as the BCS Lovelace medal, for her advancement in Information Systems, and the ACM Salton Award for her significant, sustained and continuing contributions to research in information retrieval.

In order to honour Karen's achievements, the BCS/BCS-IRSG has established an annual award to encourage and promote talented researchers who have endeavoured to advance our understanding of Information Retrieval and Natural Language Processing with significant experimental contributions.

To celebrate the commemorative event, the recipient of the award will be invited to present a keynote lecture at the BCS-IRSG's annual conference the European Conference in Information Retrieval (ECIR). This forum provides an excellent venue to present and announce the award as the conference attracts many new and younger researchers.

The recipient will also be presented with a prize consisting of a certificate, a trophy and a cash prize of £1000 plus expenses to travel to ECIR.

BCS/BCS-IRSG Karen Spärck Jones Award:

Eligibility: Open to all IR/NLP researchers, who have no more than 10 years post doctoral or equivalent experience.

Criteria: To have endeavoured to advance our understanding of IR and/or NLP through experimentation.

Nominations: The following should be provided: - name of nominee, position, affiliation, years since completing PhD; - name of person proposing the nominee, position, and affiliation; - a short case for the award (composed of a short description of why the individual should receive the award); - a short description of what contributions the individual has made; - a list of the individual's top five publications reflecting the relevant contributions, and role within these; Please note that the nomination text should not exceed 2500 words.

- Additionally, two supporting letters (i.e. reference letters) from people who would like to encourage/support the nomination must be provided, along with their contact details. **Please note that the person preparing the nomination case should submit these letters along with the nomination in this year's process. ***

Nominations should be emailed to the contact below, and seek confirmation of receipt. It is advisable that you notify us as soon as possible of an intention to nominate an individual as this will help with planning. It is possible for individuals to nominate themselves, though this is less encouraged as in the least, this will mean there is one less person supporting the nomination case.

Award Panel: The Panel Chair, appointed by the BCS IRSG Committee, will invite panel members from amongst representatives of the BCS main council, the BCS-IRSG Committee, sponsoring organisation(s), as well as at least two experts appointed by the BCS-IRSG committee and the Awards Coordinator of the BCS-IRSG.

Prize: The recipient of the award will receive a certificate, a trophy, a cash prize of £1000 plus expenses to travel to ECIR to present the keynote lecture.

Presentation: The recipient of the award is expected to give a keynote lecture at ECIR when he/she will also be presented with their trophy, and cash prize.

Timeline (for the 2011 Award to be presented in 2012):

20 April, 2011 - Call for nominations.

20 January, 2012 - Deadline for nominations.

31 January, 2012 - Notification of the prize winner.

1-5 April, 2012- Winner presents keynote at ECIR.

Sponsors: Currently, the award is being sponsored by the BCS IRSG and Microsoft Research Cambridge.

Contact: Ayse Göker, ayse.goker.1 at soi.city.ac.uk

Details also available on:



-- Dr Udo Kruschwitz University of Essex School of Computer Science and Electronic Engineering Wivenhoe Park Colchester CO4 3SQ U.K.

More information about the Corpora mailing list