[Corpora-List] Anaphora Conference DAARC2011, Faro/Portugal, *2ND CFP*

Ant—onio Branco Antonio.Branco at di.fc.ul.pt
Fri Apr 8 13:38:36 CEST 2011

[apologies for multiple copies]


DAARC2011 The 8th Discourse Anaphora and Anaphor Resolution Colloquium

Faro, Portugal hosted by the University of Lisbon October 6-7, 2011


Anaphora is a central topic in the study of natural language and has long been the object of research in a wide range of disciplines such as theoretical, corpus and computational linguistics, philosophy of language, cognitive science, psycholinguistics and cognitive psychology. On the other hand, the correct interpretation of anaphora has played an increasingly vital role in real-world natural language processing applications, including machine translation, automatic abstracting, information extraction and question answering. As a result, the processing of anaphora has become one of the most productive topics of multi- and inter-disciplinary research, and has enjoyed increased interest and attention in recent years.

In this context, the Discourse Anaphora and Anaphor Resolution Colloquia (DAARC) have emerged as the major regular forum for presentation and discussion of the best research results in this area. Initiated in 1996 at Lancaster University and taken over in 2002 by the University of Lisbon, and moving out of Europe for the first time in 2009, to Goa, India, the DAARC series established itself as a specialised and competitive forum for the presentation of the latest results on anaphora processing, ranging from theoretical linguistic approaches through psycholinguistic and cognitive work to corpus studies and computational modelling.

The eighth Discourse Anaphora and Anaphor Resolution Colloquium (DAARC2011) will take place in Faro, Portugal, in October 6-7, 2011. We would like to invite anyone currently researching in the areas of discourse anaphora and anaphor resolution, from any methodological perspective or framework, to submit a paper to DAARC2011, including submissions presenting a thorough discussion of a system and results obtained in the context of competitive evaluations, with general interest or impact for the progress of the area.

The closing date for submission is June 1, 2011. Notification of acceptance will be sent by July 15, 2011. Final versions of selected papers to be included in the proceedings are expected by September 15, 2011. A selection of best papers will be published by Springer, at the ISI indexed LNAI-Lecture Notes on Artificial Intelligence series. The remainder papers will be published in the conference Proceedings with an ISBN printed by Edições Colibri.

For details on the submission procedure and other relevant info on the colloquium visit its website at:


Program Committee:

Sergey Avrutin, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands Sivaji Bandopadhyaya, Jadavpur University, India Patricio Martinez Barco, University of Alicante, Spain Peter Bosch, University of Osnabrueck, Germany António Branco, University of Lisbon, Portugal Francis Cornish, University Toulouse-Le Mirail, France Dan Cristea, Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of Iași, Romania Robert Dale, Macquarie University, Australia Jeanette Gundel, University Minnesota, USA Laura Hasler, University of Strathclyde, UK Lars Hellan, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway Iris Hendrickx, University of Lisbon, Portugal Graeme Hirst, University Toronto, Canada Anke Holler, University of Goettingen, Germany Véronique Hoste, University College Gent, Belgium Elsi Kaiser, University Southern California, USA Andrew Kehler, University of California, San Diego, USA Andrej Kibrik, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia Sobha L., AU-KBC Research Centre, India José Leitão, University of Coimbra, Portugal Fons Maes, Tilburg University, The Netherlands Ruslan Mitkov, University Wolverhampton, UK Costanza Navarretta, University of Copenhagen, Denmark Vincent Ng, University of Texas at Dallas, USA Constantin Orasan, University Wolverhampton, UK Maria Mercedes Piñango, Yale University, USA Massimo Poesio, University of Essex, UK Georgiana Puscasu, University Wolverhampton, UK Marta Recasens, University of Barcelona, Spain Eric Reuland, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands Petra Schumacher, University of Mainz, Germany Veselin Stoyanov, Johns Hopkins University, USA Roland Stuckardt, University Frankfurt am Main, Germany Joel Tetreault, Educational Testing Service, Princeton, USA Renata Vieira, Pontifícia Universidade do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil Jos van Berkum, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands Klaus von Heusinger, Konstanz University, Germany


António Branco, University of Lisbon, Portugal Iris Hendrickx, University of Lisbon, CLUL, Portugal Ruslan Mitkov, University of Wolverhampton, UK Sobha L., Anna University Chennai, India

More information about the Corpora mailing list