[Corpora-List] Final CfP: Benelearn 09

Menno van Zaanen M.M.vanZaanen at uvt.nl
Fri Feb 13 13:34:27 CET 2009

Apologies to those of you who receive this more than once.

18th Annual

Belgian-Dutch Conference on Machine Learning

(Benelearn 09)

Final Call for Papers and Extended Abstracts

18 and 19 May 2009

Tilburg University

Submission deadline: 21 February 2009



Benelearn is the annual machine learning conference of Belgium and The Netherlands. It serves as a forum for researchers to exchange ideas, present recent work, and foster collaboration in the broad field of Machine Learning and its applications.

Benelearn 09 will be organised by the Tilburg centre for Creative Computing of Tilburg University. The conference will take place on 18 and 19 May 2009 at Tilburg University, Tilburg, the Netherlands.

Contributions are now being invited that are relevant to machine learning and related disciplines in a broad sense.


We invite the submission of extended abstracts and papers on all aspects of machine learning and related disciplines, including, but not limited to

Kernel Methods Web/Link Mining Bayesian Networks Case-based Learning Computational Learning Theory Data Mining Evolutionary Computation Hybrid Learning Systems Graphical Models Inductive Learning Inductive Logic Programming Knowledge Discovery in Databases Language Learning Learning and Problem Solving Learning by Analogy Learning in Multi-Agent Systems Learning in Dynamic Domains Learning for Bioinformatics Multi-strategy Learning Neural Networks Reinforcement Learning Robot Learning Scientific Discovery Meta-Learning Statistical Learning Probabilistic Logic Learning Computational models of Human Learning Learning for Language and Speech Applications of Machine Learning Learning and Ubiquitous Computing


Submissions are possible as either paper or extended abstract.

Papers should present original, completed and unpublished research. Presentation at the conference will be in the form of a talk.

Extended abstracts may present current, but also possible future research. For example, you may wish to outline a project that you are interested in, describe and discuss the Big Question in your field, describe and discuss a new or controversial idea, appeal for collaboration, or provide an overview of your career so far. Presentation at the conference will be in the form of a speed talk and a poster.

All submissions are to be formatted using the EACL 2009 style files (http://www.eacl2009.gr/conference/authors). Papers should have up to 8 pages; extended abstracts up to 2 pages.

Papers and extended abstracts should be submitted electronically, no later than Saturday 21 February, 2009. The only accepted format for submitted papers is PDF.

The reviewing process of the papers will be blind; thus these submissions should not include the authors' names and affiliations or any references to web sites, project names etc. revealing the authors' identity. Each paper submission will be reviewed by at least two members of the program committee. Extended abstracts will also be reviewed, but due to the nature of the extended abstracts reviewing will not be blind. All accepted submissions will be published in the workshop proceedings.

Important dates

21 February, 2009 - Deadline for paper submission 20 March, 2009 - Notification of acceptance 20 April, 2009 - Camera-ready copies due 18 and 19 May, 2009 - Belgian-Dutch Conference on Machine Learning

Programme Committee

Hendrik Blockeel, K.U. Leuven Gianluca Bontempi, U.L. Bruxelles Antal van den Bosch, Tilburg University Walter Daelemans, University of Antwerp Pierre Dupont, U.C. Louvain Damien Ernst, University of LiÚge Marieke van Erp, Tilburg University Ad Feelders, Universiteit Utrecht Bart Goethals, Antwerp University Tom Heskes, Radboud University Nijmegen Bernard Manderick, Vrije Universiteit Brussel Raphaël Marée, University of LiÚge Bart de Moor, K.U. Leuven Martijn van Otterlo, K.U. Leuven Justus Piater, University of LiÚge Luc De Raedt, K.U. Leuven Jan Ramon, K.U. Leuven Yvan Saeys, Ghent University Rodolphe Sepulchre, University of LiÚge Evgueni Smirnov, Maastricht University Maarten van Someren, Universiteit van Amsterdam Kristel Van Steen, University of LiÚge Herman Stehouwer, Tilburg University Johan Suykens, K.U. Leuven Koenraad VanHoof, Universiteit Hasselt Michel Verleysen, U.C. Louvain Paul Vitanyi, Centrum voor Wiskunde en Informatica Louis Wehenkel, University of LiÚge Menno van Zaanen, Tilburg University Others to be confirmed

Organizing Committee

Marieke van Erp M.G.J.vanErp (at) uvt.nl Herman Stehouwer J.H.Stehouwer (at) uvt.nl Menno van Zaanen mvzaanen (at) uvt.nl

Tilburg centre for Creative Computing Department of Communication and Information Sciences Tilburg University The Netherlands


Menno van Zaanen Tilburg centre for Creative Computing Department of Communication and Information Sciences Tilburg University The Netherlands mvzaanen (at) uvt.nl

Workshop website


More information about the Corpora mailing list