[Corpora-List] LAW III: Submission deadline extended to May 8

Nancy Ide ide at cs.vassar.edu
Mon Apr 27 15:49:11 CEST 2009


Final Call for Papers



* Submission deadline extended to May 8, 2009 *


The Third Linguistic Annotation Workshop (LAW III)

Sponsored by the Association for Computational Linguistics

Special Interest Group for Annotation (ACL-SIGANN)

Held in conjunction with ACL-IJCNLP 2009

Suntec, Singapore

6-7 August 2009


Linguistically annotated corpora play a major role in parsing, information extraction, question answering, machine translation and many other areas of computational linguistics, and provide an empirical testbed for theoretical linguistics research. This has led to a proliferation of annotation systems, frameworks, formats, and schemes. Recognition of the need to harmonize annotation practices and frameworks has become increasingly critical, as witnessed by numerous workshops dealing with different aspects of linguistic annotation over the past few years. The Linguistic Annotation Workshop (The LAW) provides a forum for discussing these different aspects. Specifically, the goals of this workshop include:

(1) The exchange and propagation of research results with respect to the annotation, manipulation and exploitation of corpora, taking into account different applications and theoretical investigations in the field of language technology and research;

(2) Working towards the harmonization and interoperability from the perspective of the increasingly large number of tools and frameworks that support the creation, instantiation, manipulation, querying, and exploitation of annotated resources;

(3) Working towards a consensus on all issues crucial to the advancement of the field of corpus annotation.

The workshop will include presentations of long (8 page) and short (4 page) papers, a poster session, and demonstrations of annotation tools, databases, and the like. Long papers should reflect work in an advanced state, but short papers and posters may describe more preliminary work and pilot studies. Posters and proposals for a system demonstration are to be submitted in the form of a short (4 page) paper. A demonstration proposal should provide an overview of the system to be demonstrated, including functionality, supported input/output formats or structures, supported languages and modalities, etc. Accepted proposals will also appear in the proceedings and are intended to provide background for the demonstration.

The topics of all contributions may cover any aspect of linguistic annotation including: - New annotation schemes for linguistic phenomena at any level, or

proposals for significant improvements to existing schemes - Evaluation of emerging or existing standards for linguistic annotation - Machine learning and knowledge-based methods for automation of corpus

annotation - Linguistic considerations for merging of annotation of distinct

phenomena - Evaluation considerations for corpus annotation - Comparison and/or evaluation of existing annotation systems, including

functionality, common/missing features, accommodation of different

input/output formats and resource types (lexicons, knowledge bases,

ontologies, etc.) - Creation, maintenance, and interactive exploration of annotation

structures and annotated data - Representation formats/structures for merged annotations of different

phenomena, and means to explore/manipulate them - Assessment of, and potential means to achieve, interoperability of

annotation formats/frameworks among different systems as well as

different tasks, frameworks, modalities, and languages

Submissions --------------- Long paper submissions should not exceed 8 pages in length. Short papers, posters and demo descriptions should not exceed 4 pages. Format requirements are the same as for full papers of ACL 2009. See http://www.acl-ijcnlp-2009.org/main/authors/stylefiles/index.html for style files. Submission will be electronic, using the Workshop's submission webpage at START: https://www.softconf.com/acl-ijcnlp09/LAW/

Please indicate on the front page: - long paper, short paper, poster, or demonstration proposal; - all applicable paper categories from the following list (indicate

multiple categories if appropriate): annotation frameworks and/or

physical formats, annotation scheme design (on linguistic grounds),

annotation tools and systems, corpus annotation, syntax, semantics,

predicate-argument structure, morphology, anaphora, discourse,

opinion/sentiment; - language(s) your work applies to, as well and those you plan to

handle in the future. If your work is language independent, indicate

this as well; - any non-standard equipment needed for your paper or demonstration.

All papers must be written and presented in English.

Reviewing ------------- The reviewing of the papers will be blind. The paper should not include the authors' names and affiliations. Furthermore, self-citations and other references (e.g. to projects, corpora, or software) that could reveal the author's identity should be avoided. For example, instead of "We previously showed (Smith, 1991) ...", write "Smith previously showed (Smith, 1991) ...".

Important Dates ------------------- Papers due: May 8, 2009 *** extended deadline *** Acceptance/rejection notification: April 30, 2009 Final version due: May 15, 2009 Workshop Dates: August 6-7, 2009

Organizers ------------- Nancy Ide (Vassar College) Adam Meyers (New York University)

Antonio Pareja-Lora (SIC, UCM / OEG, UPM) Sameer Pradhan (BBN Technologies) Nianwen Xue (University of Colorado)

Program Co-Chairs ----------------------- Manfred Stede (Universitaet Potsdam) Chu-Ren Huang (Hong Kong Polytechnic)

Program Committee ------------------------ Collin Baker (ICSI/UC Berkeley) Timothy Baldwin (University of Melbourne) Francis Bond (NICT) Nicoletta Calzolari (ILC/CNR) Steve Cassidy (Macquarie University) Christopher Cieri (Linguistic Data Consortium/University of Pennsylvania) Tomaz Erjavec (Josef Stefan Institute) Katrin Erk (University of Texas at Austin) Alex Chengyu Fang (City University of Hong Kong) Christiane Fellbaum (Princeton University) Charles Fillmore (ICSI/UC Berkeley) Nancy Ide (Vassar College) Richard Johansson (Lund University) Aravind Joshi (University of Pennsylvania) Adam Meyers (New York University) Joakim Nivre (Vaexjoe University and Uppsala University) Eric Nyberg (Carnegie-Mellon University) Antonio Pareja-Lora (SIC, UCM / OEG, UPM) Martha Palmer (University of Colorado) Sameer Pradhan (BBN Technologies) James Pustejovsky (Brandeis University) Mihai Surdeanu (Yahoo! Research, Barcelona) Theresa Wilson (University of Edinburgh) Andreas Witt (IDS Mannheim) Nianwen Xue (University of Colorado)

More information about the Corpora mailing list