[Corpora-List] Brazil: STIL 2009 - Second Call for Papers

saggion H.Saggion
Fri Apr 17 18:31:58 CEST 2009

7th Brazilian Symposium in Information and Human Language Technology

STIL 2009 http://www.inf.ufrgs.br/stil09

September 7-11, 2009

São Carlos, Brazil

Second Call for Papers

STIL 2009 (formerly known as TIL - Workshop on Information and Human Language Technology) is the annual Language Technology event supported by the Brazilian Computer Society (http://www.sbc.org.br/) (SBC) and by the Brazilian Special Interest Group on Natural Language Processing (http://www.nilc.icmc.usp.br/cepln/).

The conference has a multidisciplinary nature and covers a broad spectrum of disciplines related to Human Language Technology, such as Linguistics, Computer Science, Psychology, and Information Science, among others. It aims at bringing together both academic and industry participants that work on those areas.

STIL-2009 welcomes research work in human language technology in general (and not only Portuguese) in various fields. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

* Computer science: text mining, semantic web, information

extraction,information retrieval, natural language interfaces,

written and spokenlanguage processing, tagging, parsing,

summarization, machine translation, writing tools, anaphora

resolution, statistical language processing, NLP resources,

applications and evaluation.

* Linguistics: terminology, lexicology and lexicography, grammar

formalisms,discourse analysis, ontologies, translation, corpus


* Information science: information filtering and retrieval, digital

libraries,document and knowledge management, knowledge modelling.

* Natural language understanding and generation.

* Others: work on Philosophy or Human sciences in general, related

to language processing.

Call for Submissions:

Papers can be written in English, Portuguese or Spanish. Simultaneous submission to other conferences is not allowed.

Submissions will be accepted in PDF format only through the JEMS SBC system (https://submissoes.sbc.org.br). Authors should chose between full papers for oral presentation or short papers to be presented as posters, and should also indicate whether they accept their full paper to be reallocated as a poster should the reviewers recommend so.

Full papers should describe complete work with significant results and cannot exceed 8 pages in length (including tables, pictures and references.) Short papers (posters) may describe ongoing research with partial results, software demos etc. and should not exceed 4 pages in length (including tables, pictures and references.)

Paper formatting must follow the SBC guidelines available at http://www.sbc.org.br/index.php?language=1&subject=60&content=downloads

As papers will be blind-reviewed, they should not display any information regarding their authorship in the header or body of the text.

Important Dates

Papers/posters submission: 15 May 2009 Notification to the authors: 13 July 2009 Camera ready copy: 24 July 2009

Program Committee

Alexandre Agustini (PUCRS, Brazil) Laura Alonso (Universidad Nacional de Cordoba, Argentine) Sandra M. Aluísio (USP/ICMC, Brazil) Jason Baldridge (University of Texas at Austin, USA) Gladis Barcellos (UFSCar, Brazil) António Branco (UL, Portugal) Ariadne Carvalho (UNICAMP, Brazil) Helena de Medeiros Caseli (UFSCar, Brazil) Rove Chishman (UNISINOS, Brazil) Javier Couto (Universidad de la Republica, Uruguay) Gustavo Crispino (Universidad de la Republica, Uruguay) Iria da Cunha (Universidad Pompeu Fabra, Spain) Valéria Feltrim (UEL/Londrina, Brazil) Ariani Di Felippo (UFSCar, Brazil) Maria José Finatto (UFRGS, Brazil) Marcelo Finger (USP/IME, Brazil) Sérgio Freitas (UFES, Brazil) Maria Fuentes Fort (Universidad Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain) Adam Funk (University of Sheffield, UK) Michel Gagnon (Ecole Polytechnique , Canada) Pablo Gamallo (Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Spain) Caroline Gasperin (USP/ICMC, Brazil) Claudine Gonçalves (UFES, Brazil) Marco Gonzalez (PUCRS, Brazil) Julio Gonzalo (UNED, Spain) Louise Guthrie (University of Sheffield, UK) Celso Antônio Kaestner (UTFPR/PR, Brazil) Tracy King (PARC, USA) Aldebaro Klautau (UFPA, Brazil) Valia Kordoni (DFKI, Germany) Stanley Loh (UCPEL, Brazil) José Gabriel Pereira Lopes (UNL, Portugal) Gabriel Infante Lopez (Universidad Nacional de Cordoba, Argentine) Maria Luiza Machado Campos (UFRJ, Brazil) Nuno Marques (UNL, Portugal) Palmira Marrafa (UL, Portugal) David Martinez (University of Melbourne Merbourne, Australia) Ronaldo Teixeira Martins (Mackenzie, Brazil) Diana Maynard (University of Sheffield, UK) Ruy Luiz Milidiu (PUC/Rio, Brazil) Jean-Luc Minel (Universite de Paris X, France) Paloma Moreda (Universidad de Alicante, Spain) Juan Manuel Torres Moreno (Universite d'Avignon, France) Daniel Nehme Muller (UFRGS, Brazil) Constantin Orasan (University of Wolverhampton, UK) Viviane Moreira Orengo (UFRGS, Brazil) Manuel Palomar (Universidad de Alicante, Spain) Ivandré Paraboni (USP/EACH, Brazil) Thierry Poibeau (Uviversite de Paris XIII, France) Carlos Augusto Prolo (PUCRS, Brazil) Paulo Quaresma (Univ. Évora, Portugal) Violeta Quental (PUC/Rio, Brazil) Antonio Ribeiro (European Railway Agency, France) Lucia Rino (UFSCar, Brazil) Horacio Rodriguez (Universidad Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain) João Luís Garcia Rosa (USP/ICMC, Brazil) Karin Kipper Schuler (University of Pennsylvania, USA) Thais Cristófaro Silva (UFMG, Brazil) Bento da Silva (UNESP, Brazil) Alberto F. de Souza (UFES, Brazil) Renato Rocha Souza (UFMG, Brazil) Lucia Specia (Xerox, France) Vera Strube de Lima (PUCRS, Brazil) Stella Tagnin (USP/FFLCH, Brazil) Diego Uribe (Instituto Tecnologico de la Laguna, Mexico) Jose Luis Vicedo (Universidad de Alicante, Spain) Renata Vieira (PUCRS, Brazil) Leo Wanner (Universidad Pompeu Fabra, Spain) Leandro Wives (UFRGS, Brazil) Dina Wonsever (Universidad de la Republica, Uruguay) Yi Zhang (DFKI, Germany)


You can contact us by emailing stil09-l at inf.ufrgs.br

General Conference Chairs:

Thiago A. S. Pardo (Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brazil) Maria das Graças Volpe Nunes (Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brazil)

Program Co-Chairs:

Aline Villavicencio (Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil) Horacio Saggion (University of Sheffield, UK)

More information about the Corpora mailing list