[Corpora-List] The 7th Discourse Anaphora and Anaphor Resolution Colloquium, (DAARC2009)

Sobha.L sobha at au-kbc.org
Fri Nov 14 08:14:15 CET 2008


The 7th Discourse Anaphora and Anaphor Resolution Colloquium


Goa, India

hosted by AU-KBC Research Centre, Anna University, Chennai

November 5-6, 2009


Anaphora is a central topic in the study of natural language and has long been the object of research in a wide range of disciplines such as theoretical, corpus and computational linguistics, philosophy of language, cognitive science, psycholinguistics and cognitive psychology. On the other hand, the correct interpretation of anaphora has played an increasingly vital role in real-world natural language processing applications, including machine translation, automatic abstracting, information extraction and question answering. As a result, the processing of anaphora has become one of the most productive topics of multi- and inter-disciplinary research, and has enjoyed increased interest and attention in recent years.

In this context, the Discourse Anaphora and Anaphor Resolution Colloquia (DAARC) have emerged as the major regular forum for presentation and discussion of the best research results in this area. Initiated in 1996 at Lancaster University and taken over in 2002 by the University of Lisbon, and moving out of Europe for the first time in 2009, to Goa, India, the DAARC series established itself as a specialised and competitive forum for the presentation of the latest results on anaphora processing, ranging from theoretical linguistic approaches through psycholinguistic and cognitive work to corpus studies and computational modelling.

The seventh Discourse Anaphora and Anaphor Resolution Colloquium (DAARC2009) will take place in Goa, India, in November 5-6, 2009. We would like to invite anyone currently researching in the areas of discourse anaphora and anaphor resolution, from any methodological perspective or framework, to submit a paper to DAARC2009.

The closing date for submission is April 7, 2009. Notification of acceptance will be sent by June 15, 2009. Final versions of selected papers to be included in the proceedings are expected by June 30, 2009.

Submissions (extended abstracts) must be anonymous and at most 3 pages in length. For further details on the submission procedure and other relevant info on the colloquium visit its website at:


Program Committee:

Alfons Maes, Tilburg Univ Andrew Kehler, Univ California San Diego Anke Holler, Univ of Goettingen António Branco, Univ Lisbon Christer Johansson, Bergen Univ Constantin Orasan, Univ. Wolverhampton Costanza Navarretta, Univ of Copenhagen Dan Cristea, Univ Iasi Elsi Kaiser, Univ Southern California Eric Reuland, OTS Francis Cornish, Univ Toulouse-Le Mirail Georgiana Puscasu, Univ Wolverhampton Graeme Hirst, Univ Toronto Iris Hendrickx, Antwerp Univ Jeanette Gundel, Univ Minnesota Jeffrey Runner, Univ of Rochester Joel Tetreault, Education Testing Service Jos van Berkum, MPI Klaus von Heusinger, Konstanz Univ Lars Hellan, Norwegian Univ of Science and Technology Maria Mercedes Pinango, Yale Univ Martin Everaert, OTS Massimo Poesio, Univ Essex Narayana Murthy, Hyderabad Central Univ Patricio Martinez Barco, Univ Alicante Peter Bosch, Univ Osnabrueck Petra Schumacher, Univ. of Mainz Renata Vieira, PUC Rio Grande do Sul Richard Evans, Univ Wolverhampton Robert Dale, Macquarie Univ Roland Stuckardt, Univ Frankfurt am Main Ruslan Mitkov, Univ Wolverhampton Sergey Avrutin, OTS Shalom Lappin, King's College Sivaji Bandopadhyaya, Jadavpur Univ Sobha L, AU-KBC Research Centre Tony Sanford, Glasgow Univ Veronique Hoste, Gent Univ Yan Huang, Univ of Auckland


António Branco, Univ Lisbon Ruslan Mitkov, Univ Wolverhampton Sobha, L, AU-KBC Research Centre

-------------- next part -------------- A non-text attachment was scrubbed... Name: not available Type: text/html Size: 7149 bytes Desc: not available Url : https://mailman.uib.no/public/corpora/attachments/20081114/2fcbae4f/attachment.txt

More information about the Corpora mailing list