[Corpora-List] CFP: EACL 2009 Workshop on Cognitive Aspects of Computational Language Acquisition

Thierry Poibeau tp280 at cam.ac.uk
Tue Nov 4 12:12:00 CET 2008

2nd Call for Papers


30 or 31 March 2009 Athens, Greece



Workshop Description ====================

This workshop is focused on the relevance of computational learning methods for research on human language acquisition. Developing and applying such computational techniques that can improve our understanding of human language acquisition will not only benefit cognitive sciences in general, but will also reflect back to NLP and place us in a better position to develop useful language models.

The workshop aims to bring together researchers from the diverse fields of NLP, machine learning, artificial intelligence, (psycho)linguistics, etc. who are interested in the relevance of computational techniques for understanding human language learning.

The workshop is intended to bridge the gap between the computational and cognitive communities, promote knowledge and resource sharing, and help initiate interdisciplinary research projects. Success in this type of research requires close collaboration between NLP and cognitive scientists. To this end, interdisciplinary workshops can play a key role in advancing existing and initiating new research. This was demonstrated by some successful events like the previous edition of this workshop held at ACL 2007.

Areas of interest =================

Papers are invited on, but not limited to, the following topics:

- Computational learning theory and analysis of language learning

- Computational models of human (first, second and bilingual) language acquisition

- Computational models of various aspects of language acquisition, and their interaction with each other

- Computational models of the evolution of language

- Data resources and tools for investigating computational models of human language acquisition

- Empirical and theoretical comparisons of the learning environment and its impact on the acquisition task

- Computational methods for acquiring various linguistic information (related to e.g. speech, morphology, lexicon, syntax, semantics, and discourse) and their relevance to research on human language acquisition

- Investigations and comparisons of supervised, unsupervised and weakly-supervised methods for learning (e.g. machine learning, statistical, symbolic, biologically-inspired, active learning, various hybrid models) from the cognitive aspect

Papers can cover one or more of these areas.

Submission Information ======================

Papers should describe original work and should indicate the state of completion of the reported results. In particular, any overlap with previously published work should be clearly mentioned. Submissions will be judged on correctness, novelty, technical strength, clarity of presentation, usability, and significance/relevance to the workshop.

Submissions should follow the two-column format of the EACL 2009 main-conference proceedings and should not exceed eight (8) pages, including references. We strongly recommend the use of either the LaTeX style file or the Microsoft-Word Style file, which can be found at http://www.eacl2009.gr/conference/authors.

The reviewing will be blind. Therefore, the paper should not include the authors' names and affiliations. Furthermore, self- citations and other references that could reveal the author's identity should be avoided.

Submission will be electronic. The only accepted format for submitted papers is Adobe PDF. Papers must be submitted no later than December 19, 2008 using the submission webpage that will be available soon.

Submissions will be reviewed by 3 members of the Program Committee. Authors of accepted papers will receive guidelines regarding how to produce camera-ready versions of their papers for inclusion in the EACL workshop proceedings.

Notification of receipt will be emailed to the contact author.

Important Dates ===============

- Paper submission deadline: 19 December 2008 - Acceptance notification sent: 30 January 2009 - Final version deadline: 13 February 2009 - Workshop date: 30 or 31 March 2009

Workshop Chairs ===============

- Thierry Poibeau (CNRS and University Paris 13, France) - Afra Alishahi (University of Saarland, Germany)) - Aline Villavicencio (Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil and University of Bath, UK)

Address any queries regarding the workshop to: cognitive2009 at gmail.com

Program Committee =================

- Colin J Bannard (Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, Germany) - Marco Baroni (University of Trento, Italy) - Robert C. Berwick (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA) - Jim Blevins (University of Cambridge, UK) - Rens Bod (University of Amsterdam, Netherlands) - Antal van den Bosch (Tilburg University, The Netherlands) - Chris Brew (Ohio State University, USA) - Ted Briscoe (University of Cambridge, UK) - Robin Clark (University of Pennsylvania, USA) - Stephen Clark (University of Oxford, UK) - Matthew W. Crocker (Saarland University, Germany) - James Cussens (University of York, UK) - Walter Daelemans (University of Antwerp, Belgium and Tilburg University, The Netherlands) - Ted Gibson (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA) - Henriette Hendriks (University of Cambridge, UK) - Julia Hockenmaier (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) - Marco Idiart (Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil) - Mark Johnson (Brown University, USA) - Aravind Joshi (University of Pennsylvania, USA) - Anna Korhonen (University of Cambridge, UK) - Alessandro Lenci (University of Pisa, Italy) - Massimo Poesio (University of Trento, Italy) - Brechtje Post (University of Cambridge, UK) - Ari Rappoport (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel) - Dan Roth (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) - Kenji Sagae (University of Southern California, USA) - Sabine Schulte im Walde (University of Stuttgart, Germany) - Mark Steedman (University of Edinburgh, UK) - Suzanne Stevenson (University of Toronto, Canada) - Patrick Sturt (University of Edinburgh, UK) - Bert Vaux (University of Wisconsin, USA) - Charles Yang (University of Pennsylvania, USA) - Menno van Zaanen (Macquarie University, Australia) - Michael Zock (LIF, CNRS, Marseille, France)

More information about the Corpora mailing list