[Corpora-List] Extended deadline (Feb 25)-- LREC Workshop: Second Linguistic Annotation Workshop (LAW II)

Nancy Ide ide at cs.vassar.edu
Mon Feb 18 20:09:00 CET 2008



The 2nd Linguistic Annotation Workshop (The LAW II)


Held in conjunction with LREC 2008, Marrakech, Morocco

Sponsored by the ACL Special Interest Group on Annotation (SIGANN)

SIGANN Working Groups and Demo/Poster session, afternoon of May 26, 2008

Paper presentations, full day May 27, 2008

Linguistic annotation of natural language corpora is the backbone of supervised methods of statistical natural language processing. Annotation encodes human knowledge about linguistic phenomena that can be modeled statistically and reproduced by automatic procedures. This meeting will provide a forum for annotation researchers to work towards standardization, best practices and interoperability, as well as to share innovative research in corpus annotation.

We invite submissions of long (8 pages) and short (4 pages) papers, posters, and demonstrations relating to all aspects of the linguistic annotation of corpora, including:

New and innovative annotation schemes Machine learning and knowledge-based methods for automation of corpus annotation

Linguistic considerations for merging of annotation of distinct phenomena

Comparison of annotation schemes

Evaluation considerations for corpus annotation

Comparison and/or evaluation of existing annotation systems, including functionality, common/missing features, accommodation of different input/output formats and resource types(lexicons,knowledge bases, ontologies, etc.)

Creation, maintenance, and interactive exploration of annotation

structures and annotated data

Representation formats/structures for merged annotations of different phenomena, and means to explore/manipulate them

Assessment of, and potential means to achieve, interoperability of annotation formats/frameworks among different systems as well as different tasks, frameworks, modalities, and languages

Full length or short papers, including position papers, proposals, evaluations, etc., are also solicited as input to the sessions of the SIGANN Shared Corpus Working Group and the SIGANN Working Group on Best Practices. We urge members of the community interested in working on any aspect of harmonization of linguistic annotations to participate.

The workshop will begin with a half-day session (afternoon of May 26) devoted to SIGANN working group sessions on Shared Corpus Annotation and Best Practice Guidelines, together with a poster/demo session. A full-day session (May 27) will be devoted to paper presentations.


Long paper submissions should not exceed 8 pages in length. Short papers and demo descriptions should not exceed 4 pages. Format requirements will be the same as for full papers of LREC 2008. For details, please consult the submission section on the workshop website.


Submission deadline: 25 February 2008

Notification of acceptance: 16 March 2008

Camera-ready version due: 3 April 2008

SIGANN Meeting: 26 May (afternoon) 2008

Workshop: 27 May (full day) 2008


Nancy Ide (Vassar College)

Adam Meyers (New York University)


Inderjeet Mani (MITRE Corporation)

Antonio Pareja-Lora (SIC, UCM / OEG, UPM)

Sameer Pradhan (BBN Technologies)

Manfred Stede (Universitat Potsdam)

Nianwen Xue (University of Colorado)


David Ahn (Powerset)

Lars Ahrenberg (Linkoping University)

Timothy Baldwin (University of Melbourne)

Francis Bond (NICT)

Kalina Bontcheva (University of Sheffield)

Matthias Buch-Kromann (Copenhagen Business School)

Paul Buitelaar (DFKI)

Jean Carletta (University of Edinburgh)

Christopher Cieri (Linguistic Data Consortium/University of Pennsylvania)

Hamish Cunningham (University of Sheffield)

David Day (MITRE Corporation)

Thierry Declerck (DFKI)

Ludovic Denoyer (LIP6 - University of Paris 6)

Richard Eckart (Darmstadt University of Technology)

Tomaz Erjavec (Jozef Stefan Institute)

David Farwell (New Mexico State University)

Alex Chengyu Fang (City University Hong Kong)

Chuck Fillmore (International Computer Science Institute)

John Fry (San Jose State University)

Claire Grover (University of Edinburgh)

Ed Hovy (Information Sciences Institute)

Baden Hughes (University of Melbourne)

Emi Izumi (NICT)

Aravind Joshi (University of Pennsylvania

Ewan Klein (University of Edinburgh)

Mike Maxwell (University of Maryland)

Stephan Oepen (University of Oslo)

Martha Palmer (University of Colorado)

Manfred Pinkal (Saarland University)

James Pustejovsky (Brandeis University)

Owen Rambow (Columbia University)

Laurent Romary (Max-Planck Digital Library)

Erik Tjong Kim Sang (University of Amsterdam)

Graham Wilcock (University of Helsinki)

Theresa Wilson (University of Edinburgh) -------------- next part -------------- An HTML attachment was scrubbed... URL: https://mailman.uib.no/public/corpora/attachments/20080218/286cda82/attachment.html

More information about the Corpora mailing list